Comparison

YNAB vs Monarch Money (2026): Which Is Better, and a Cheaper Third Option

Two US$100-a-year budgeting apps with very different ideas about what a budget is for. Here is how they compare on price, method, bank connections and couples, and when a third option makes more sense.

By Ahmad Jamal · Published October 7, 2026 · 12 min read

The Short Answer

Pick YNAB if overspending is the problem: its method makes you plan every dollar before you spend it, and the 34-day trial needs no card. Pick Monarch Money if visibility is the problem: it tracks everything, including investments, lets a partner join free, and is US$9 a year cheaper on list price. Both charge in US dollars and both are weakest on Canadian banks. If you are in Canada, or want a free plan, Waypoint Budget is the cheaper third option.

"YNAB vs Monarch" searches jump every January, when people sign up for a budgeting app with the new year. Both apps are good at what they set out to do. I build Waypoint Budget, so I have kept every YNAB and Monarch claim below tied to their own pages or to a dated source, and where a vendor page does not mention something, the table says "Not listed" rather than guessing.

YNAB vs Monarch vs Waypoint Budget at a Glance

YNAB vs Monarch Money vs Waypoint Budget: price, trial, platforms, bank connections and features, October 2026
FeatureYNAB logoYNABMonarch Money logoMonarch MoneyWaypoint Budget logoWaypoint Budget
Annual priceUS$109/yrCore US$99.99/yr • Plus US$199/yrFree • Plus $79.99/yr • Pro $129.99/yr
Monthly priceUS$14.99/moCore US$14.99/mo • Plus annual onlyPlus $7.99/mo • Pro $12.99/mo
Billing currencyUSD onlyUSD only, including in CanadaCAD in Canada, USD in the US
Trialand whether a card is needed34 days, no card when you sign up on ynab.com7 days; card not stated on the pricing page (guides disagree)Free plan, no card • 7-day Plus or Pro trial, card at checkout
PlatformsiOS, Android, webiOS, Android, webiOS, Android, web
US bank connectionsYes, Direct ImportYes, through Plaid, MX or FinicityYes, through Plaid (Plus and Pro)
Canadian bank connectionsSelect Canadian banks; provider not listedYes; Monarch asks Canadians to check theirs during the trialPlaid and Flinks, 10,000+ US and Canadian institutions, including credit unions
Shared budgetscouples or householdsUp to 6 people on one subscriptionHousehold members at no extra cost, own loginsPro: whole household, members join free
Rollover categoriesYes, leftover money carries forwardYes, turned on per categoryYes, on every plan including Free
AI coachNot listedYes, AI AssistantYes, Smart Money Coach
Data exportCSV (plan and register)CSV (transactions; balances separate)CSV, any account, every plan
Import from the other appNo Monarch importer listed; CSV file importNo YNAB importer listed; CSV import on webYNAB and Monarch importers, every plan

Checked October 7, 2026 against ynab.com/pricing, monarch.com/pricing, monarch.com/canada, the YNAB and Monarch help centres, and waypointbudget.com/pricing. YNAB and Monarch prices are US dollars. Waypoint Budget prices are CAD for Canadians and USD for US customers. "Not listed" means the vendor pages we checked do not mention it, not that the app lacks it.

Pricing and What Changed in 2026

YNAB: US$109 a year since 2024, no change in 2026

YNAB costs US$14.99 a month or US$109 a year (US$9.08 a month billed annually), and its pricing page says plainly that it is "priced in US dollars. Exchange rates are not reflected in the price." The trial is 34 days with no credit card when you sign up directly. The US$109 price is not new: it replaced US$99 for new sign-ups on August 1, 2024 and for renewals on September 1, 2024, after earlier steps from US$50 to US$84 to US$99. We found no YNAB price change in 2026. Its 2026 changes were features: a reworked File-Based Import that now prefers CSV (August 12), Card Mode approvals, Plan Reset and a Matched filter on iOS (September 16), and Hidden Payees (September 22).

Two details are worth knowing. Third-party guides report that subscribing through the Apple App Store costs more, about US$19.99 a month, so sign up on the web if price matters. And for Canadians, US$109 works out to roughly $150 CAD a year before a card's foreign transaction fee.

Monarch: Core unchanged, a new Plus tier on April 20, 2026

Monarch Core is US$99.99 a year or US$14.99 a month, up from an early US$89.99 annual plan. On April 20, 2026 Monarch added Monarch Plus at US$199 a year, annual only, with Forecasting, Monarch for Business Owners, Fund Analysis from Morningstar and Gains & Losses. The Core price did not move. Monarch's pricing page says "Your first week is on us", and it has advertised a 30% WELCOME code on Core annual for new members. Whether the 7-day trial needs a card is not stated on the pricing page, and third-party guides disagree, so check at sign-up. Monarch also ran a web-only 50% first-year code (NEWYEAR2026) from January 1 to February 1, 2026, so a January deal may appear again.

Canadians pay in US dollars too: Monarch's Canada page says "All prices are billed in USD." When Monarch arrived in Canada in late 2023 it said CAD billing was in the works; in October 2026 it is still USD.

What One Year Costs (List Prices, October 2026)

YNAB, billed annuallyUS$109.00
YNAB, billed monthly ($14.99 x 12)US$179.88
Monarch Core, billed annuallyUS$99.99
Monarch Core, billed monthly ($14.99 x 12)US$179.88
Monarch Plus, annual onlyUS$199.00
Waypoint Budget Free (manual entry and CSV import)$0
Waypoint Budget Plus, billed annually$79.99
Waypoint Budget Pro, billed annually$129.99

Monarch Core is US$9.01 a year cheaper than YNAB on annual list price; monthly, they cost the same. Waypoint Budget prices are CAD for Canadians and USD in the US.

Method: Four Rules vs Tracking First

This is the real difference, and it matters more than the US$9.

YNAB logoYNAB: plan the money you have

YNAB built its name on four rules: give every dollar a job, embrace your true expenses, roll with the punches, and age your money. Its current method page frames the same idea as one question, "What's it for?", across money for now, for later, for ease, for you and for change.

In practice you assign only money that has already arrived. Money left in a category carries into next month, and when you overspend you move money from another category to cover it. The habit takes a few weeks to click, which is why the 34-day trial helps.

Best for: people who keep running short before payday and want a system that forces the trade-offs up front.

Monarch Money logoMonarch: see everything, then budget

Monarch starts from tracking. You connect bank accounts, cards and investments, and it shows net worth, cash flow and spending in one place. Budgets sit on top, by category or by group, and you can turn on rollover for any category so leftovers carry into next month.

Its AI Assistant answers questions about your spending, cash flow and net worth using your own data, and Monarch says a panel of financial planners, therapists and coaches shaped its guidance. Plus adds forecasting and investment analysis.

Best for: people who already spend within their means and want the whole picture, including investments, without a strict method.

Bank Connections and Reliability

Monarch connects through three data providers, Plaid, MX and Finicity, and suggests the one that has historically connected best to your bank. YNAB's Direct Import supports "select US, Canadian, UK, and EU Banks", and its pricing page does not name a provider. Both work well for most large US banks.

Reviews tell a less even story. As of October 2026, Monarch's Trustpilot page scores 2.3 out of 5 with 55% one-star reviews. The recurring complaints are email-only support, duplicate transactions, institutions that will not connect, and a sign bug that reviewers say has shown expenses as credits "since October 2025". A user-reported StatusGator entry also logged budget history failing to load on June 18, 2026. YNAB's Canadian Trustpilot page shows 77% five-star and 1% one-star reviews; its critics mostly point at the rising price and manual workarounds, and the per-bank issues we found were isolated, such as Capital One delays of nearly three weeks.

A fair caveat on reviews

Trustpilot is a small slice of users and leans toward people with a problem. Monarch's figure comes from its main Trustpilot page and YNAB's from the Canadian one. Treat the gap as a signal about support and sync, not a verdict on either app.

In Canada, both are weaker

Both apps are available in Canada, but neither is built around Canadian banks. Monarch's own Canada page tells you to "try it for free for 7 days and confirm your institutions connect reliably to Monarch." YNAB supports only select Canadian banks, and Canadian review sites report disconnections and missing transactions at TD, RBC, BMO and CIBC. This is an industry problem, not just theirs: PocketSmith published Canadian connection success rates of 46% (Yodlee) and 63% (Plaid) for RBC and 67% and 53% for TD as of February 5, 2026.

Couples and Households

Both apps let a partner join without paying twice. YNAB lets you "share your subscription with partners, families, and other close-knit groups of up to six people." Monarch lets you invite household members to one subscription at no extra cost, each with their own login and the same access to accounts, transactions and budgets. One catch on Monarch: you cannot invite someone who already has a Monarch account, so a partner who signed up separately has to use another email or delete their account first.

The difference is style more than access. YNAB couples share one plan and agree on where every dollar goes. Monarch couples tend to connect everything and review the shared picture together. For a deeper look at the couples angle, see our Waypoint Budget vs Monarch Money for couples comparison.

You're in good company

Don't take our word for it. See what people are saying about us on Trustpilot.

De-anna Lea
Maxime
Ryan Plester
Jodi Harbarenko
Byra Dineshkumar

Trusted by 10,000+ budgeters

4.6/5 on Trustpilot

Who Should Pick Which

  • Pick YNAB if you want a method that changes how you spend, a long trial with no card to learn it, and you are in the US or your Canadian bank is on its supported list.
  • Pick Monarch Money if you want net worth, investments and budgets in one app, a household with its own logins at no extra cost, or Plus features like forecasting, and your banks connect during the 7-day trial.
  • Pick Waypoint Budget if you are in Canada and want to pay in CAD, need a bank that Plaid alone does not reach, want a free plan you can stay on, or want the cheapest paid plan of the three.

Where Waypoint Budget Fits

Waypoint Budget is the app I build in Calgary, and it exists for the people this comparison leaves out. Here is what it does differently, and where it is weaker.

  • Priced in CAD for Canadians. Plus is $7.99 a month or $79.99 a year and Pro is $12.99 or $129.99, in CAD in Canada and USD in the US. No exchange rate, no foreign transaction fee.
  • Plaid plus Flinks. Bank sync uses Plaid and, for Canadian banks, Flinks as well, so Canadian credit unions and smaller banks connect too. To be straight about it: many Canadian banks on Flinks ask you to approve each sync on your phone, while Plaid banks sync in the background.
  • A free plan that stays free. Unlimited manual transactions, rollover categories, goals, CSV and PDF statement import, and the Smart Money Coach at 5 messages a day. It has no bank connections; Plus adds 1 connection and Pro adds 5 shared across your household.
  • iPhone, Android and web. The same budget on every device, on every plan.
  • Importers for both apps. The YNAB import rebuilds your categories, budget amounts, goals and history (how to move from YNAB). The Monarch import brings in your transactions and categories and suggests budget amounts from your recent spending (how to move from Monarch Money).

Where it is weaker: Waypoint Budget is newer, with a smaller community and less teaching material than YNAB's two decades of it. It has no fund analysis like Monarch Plus. And household sharing needs Pro, so a US couple pays US$129.99 a year, more than YNAB or Monarch Core. For a single person with one bank, Plus is the cheapest paid plan of the three, and the free plan costs nothing.

Try the Cheaper Third Option

Start on the free plan, import your YNAB or Monarch export, and add Bank sync when you are ready. Prices in CAD for Canadians.

Start Free

No credit card for the free plan. Plus and Pro include a 7-day trial.

Frequently Asked Questions

It depends on the job. Monarch Money is better if you want to see everything in one place, including investments and net worth, add household members at no extra cost, and ask an AI assistant about your numbers. YNAB is better if you want a structured method that changes how you spend, a 34-day trial with no credit card, and steadier reviews (77% five-star on Trustpilot Canada, against Monarch's 2.3 out of 5 on Trustpilot, both checked October 2026). List prices are close: US$109 a year for YNAB and US$99.99 for Monarch Core.
Both are available in Canada, and both charge in US dollars only. YNAB's Direct Import supports "select US, Canadian, UK, and EU Banks", and YNAB at US$109 works out to about $150 CAD a year before any foreign transaction fee. Monarch tells Canadians to use its 7-day trial to "confirm your institutions connect reliably". If you want CAD pricing and a budgeting app that connects through both Plaid and Flinks, Waypoint Budget charges Canadians in CAD.
On annual list price, Monarch Core (US$99.99 a year) is US$9.01 cheaper than YNAB (US$109 a year). Monthly, both are US$14.99. Monarch Plus, added April 20, 2026, is US$199 a year. Monarch has also advertised a 30% WELCOME code on Core annual for new members. If you want a cheaper third option, Waypoint Budget Plus is $79.99 a year, and its free plan (manual entry plus CSV import, no bank connections) costs nothing.
Yes, both include sharing at no extra cost. YNAB lets you share one subscription with up to six people. Monarch lets you invite household members to one subscription, each with their own login, though someone who already has a Monarch account has to use a different email or delete that account first. Waypoint Budget includes household sharing on Pro ($129.99 a year), and members join free.
YNAB exports your plan and register as CSV files, and Monarch exports all transactions as a CSV from Settings, then Data, then Download Transactions (account balances are a separate download). Neither YNAB nor Monarch lists an importer for the other app, but both accept CSV files. Waypoint Budget has importers for both: the YNAB import rebuilds categories, budget amounts, goals and history, and the Monarch import brings in your transactions and categories. Export before you cancel either app.

Disclaimer

This article is for informational and editorial purposes only and reflects the author's own testing and opinions. Waypoint Budget is our own product, and we describe every option as accurately as we can, including the cases where a competitor is the better fit. Waypoint Budget is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by YNAB and Monarch Money, or any other company named here. All trademarks, logos, and brand names are the property of their respective owners and are used for identification and editorial purposes only. Pricing, features, and availability change without notice, so verify current details with each provider before deciding. This is not financial advice.